BEAT Festival 2018 - IGNITEI

The Beat Festival is the NT Department of Education's annual performing arts showcase - a large scale combined-schools production coordinated by the NT Music School with the support of the Beat Foundation, showcasing the great work of NT schools. An annual and keenly anticipated event since 1979, the three shows in September each year typically feature:

  • 300 voice choir
  • 30 piece orchestra
  • dance groups
  • rock bands, soloists and other music ensembles
  • talented vocalists from ages 12 to 18

Audiences fill the Darwin Entertainment Centre each year to glimpse the wealth of talent in public schools and see the dedication, commitment and creativity of the teachers who nurture that talent.The Beat Foundation has a long history in the youth arts landscape of the Northern Territory. For more than 35 years a dedicated band of people and organisations have worked together, making the annual Beat Festival an iconic event in the performing arts calendar, anticipated widely in the community.The Foundation is a charitable incorporated association, supported by the NT Department of Education, the Rotary Club of Darwin, the Darwin City Council and other sponsors. The board comprises members of the Rotary Club of Darwin, NT DoE school leaders, the Production team at the NT Music School, parents and community members. The current chair is Mr Bill Grose, Principal of the Northern Territory Music School.Schools in the massed choirs are performing on the following nights:

Wednesday 12th September:
Anula Primary, Berry Springs Primary, Casuarina Street Primary, Karama Primary, Katherine School of the Air, Manunda Terrace Primary, Moil Primary, Maningrida School, Nightcliff Middle, Ramingining School, Sanderson Middle, Wagaman Primary, Wanguri Primary and Singchronicity NT Music Schools’ Combined Schools Choir


Thursday 13th September:
Alawa Primary, Bees Creek Primary, Casuarina Street Primary, Darwin Middle, Howard Springs, Humpty Doo Primary, Katherine School of the Air,  Ludmilla Primary, Maningrida School , Nakara Primary, Ramingining School, Wulagi Primary and Singchronicity NT Music Schools’ Combined Schools Choir.


Friday 14th September:
Durack Primary, Jingili Primary, Girraween Primary, Malak Primary, Nemarluk School, Nightcliff Primary,  Parap Primary, Palmerston Senior College, Rosebery Primary School, Woodroffe Primary and Singchronicity NT Music Schools’ Combined Schools Choir.


News category: 

Other Info

Phone: 08 8963 5550 
FAX: 08 8963 5569
ADDRESS: 60 Matthews Road, WULAGI NT 0812 POSTAL: PO BOX 455, KARAMA NT 0813
ABN: 59137702180

Middle & Senior School Bus Routes to NTMS
Primary School Bus Routes to NTMS

We're a social bunch

Find us on our facebook page

Enrol Online